Historic Rogers Hotel
The Rogers Hotel is located in Historic
and offers visitors three choices in rooms.
The hotel is named
after the founder of Waxahachie, Emory W. Rogers who built his log cabin
home in 1847 and donated land for the Ellis County Courthouse in 1850.
In 1856 Mr. Rogers built a two story hotel where his log cabin was, but
it was destroyed in a fire in 1881. A second hotel was built there by
The Waxahachie Real Estate & Bldg. Assn., but it also was destroyed
in a fire in 1911.
The present building was
designed by Architect C. D. Hill in 1912 and opened in early 1913 at a
cost of approximately $100,000. The hotel has twin four story towers
constructed of reinforced concrete, faced with dark mottled brick,
trimmed with bedford stone and claimed to be "Absolutely Fire
Proof". The West tower roof was designed with a roof garden
restaurant with a panoramic view of the city. The East tower roof was
designed for sleeping tents for open air enthusiasts. The basement was
designed with a billiard room, a barber shop and a swimming pool
supplied from a nearby hot well.